Port Pirie Mayor to Lead Region

Port Pirie Mayor Leon Stephens has been appointed as Chair of the Spencer Gulf Cities, with Whyalla Mayor Clare McLauglin as deputy.

The appointments were made in early December at the first meeting of the association since the recent local government elections.

Mayor Stephens said the importance of the tri-city alliance remains as strong as ever.

“The alliance between Port Pirie, Port Augusta and Whyalla has been going for over 20 years and remains as relevant today as it ever has.”

“As three industrial cities we share many common issues and understanding of how these can impact on our communities, through the good times and the bad.”

Port Augusta Mayor Brett Benbow said the sheer scale of the region’s economic transition over the next few years will need strong coordination across the three cities.”

“We need to work together to make sure we maximise these opportunities and can plan ahead for the significant increase in workforce and associated services and infrastructure that will be required.”

Whyalla’s newly-elected Mayor Clare McLaughlin said she was looking forward to contributing towards Spencer Gulf Cities and working with all stakeholders.

“The Upper Spencer Gulf has some incredible investments that will completely change the face of the region and the state into the future.

“It is such an exciting time for the Upper Spencer Gulf – we have an amazing future ahead of us.”


Contact: Mayor Leon Stephens, Chair of Spencer Gulf Cities Mob: 0417 080 961
Mayor Clare McLaughlin, Whyalla City Council Mob: 0417 846 025
Mayor Brett Benbow, Port Augusta Council Mob: 0419 423 777